"The Cheap Seats: Notebook"

The hit professional sports talk radio show — in print

Super Bowl Notebook: Giants Practice

Posted by Scott Stanchak on March 17, 2008

The following interviews took place January 26, 2008 after the New York Giants’ practice for the Super Bowl.  The Giants had several practices at home before heading to Arizona to take on the undefeated New England Patriots.

Jay Alford:

Scott: “Have you guys changed up a lot of things so the Patriots will see a different Giants team this time around?”

Jay: “No, we didn’t change up anything. We just go out there and practice what we practice and that’s what we do.”

Scott: “What are you looking forward to most for when you get to Arizona?”

Jay:
“The game, but also a little bit of the warmer weather. Because you know, it’s been freezing up here so I’ll take that warm weather any day.”

Scott:
“It’s not as cold here as it was in Green Bay though?”

Jay: “Yea, that was ridiculous. I’ve never been that cold in my life.”

Kevin Dockery:

Scott: “Do you feel it was a little bit of fate that you had the Patriots on the schedule this year? Does that help your chances?”

Kevin:
“No, because the record’s what it is. It all comes down to one game. We’re preparing for one game. Whether we played them or not, we still are going to come into it the same. We’re going to lay it all out on the line and play as hard as we can play.”

Kawika Mitchell:

Scott: “How much of a different team are the Patriots going to see this time around? This time you’ve seen them on the field and it’s not just videotape.”

Kawika: “It will be really hard to change a lot of things for us and for them. We’ll have a couple wrinkles and they’ll have a couple wrinkles put in for us. But I think it’s just gonna be who plays the smartest. I don’t think it will be that much different.”

Jeff Feagles:

Scott:
“How much of a different Giants team are the Patriots going to see this time around?”

Jeff: “Well, I think we had a lot of confidence going into that game by the way we played. I think, in that game, we all had in the back of our minds we had, who was going to sit out if the game gets out of hand. But all our starters played. But I think in this case, we’ve got a lot of guys who are getting healthier. So I’d say we’re a healthier team and a hungrier team, because at that point we never knew we’d be in this situation.”

Scott:
“What are you most looking forward to when you get to Arizona?”

Jeff: “The weather is one of them. To get out of this cold weather. But I think just being able to witness and take it all in the real feeling of what it’s like to be on a team on a team that’s in the Super Bowl, not a spectator, because I’ve been a spectator the weeks leading up to the Super Bowl, but I’ve never been inside the stadium to see one. That’s kind of what I’m excited… I’m excited about to getting to the stadium on Game Day and really seeing what it’s like to be inside there.”

Scott: “Are you going to be one of those guys with the video camera, taping everything down there?”

Jeff: “Oh, yea. I’ll have my video camera everywhere. Hopefully it will be a nice video taping session after the game’s over.”

Aaron Ross:

Scott:
“How much of a different Giants team are the Patriots going to see this time around?”

Aaron: “We’re playing some really good football right now, especially from the defensive side. We’re playing with a lot of confidence. We’re executing our plays more and they’ll see the same guys out there. I think everybody’s going to try and do their job to the fullest.”

Scott: “Is the confidence boosted because you played them already this season?”

Aaron: “It doesn’t have anything to do with that, I think. I think, us, just getting closer as a defensive unit as the year goes on. I think that’s the main thing. We’re just really comfortable with each other.”

David Tyree:

Scott: “What’s the one thing you’ve been looking forward to doing when you get to Arizona?”

David: “One thing? Probably taking a good nap in a resort. Other than that, I can’t wait for my family to get out there, to spend some time with my family. I’m a laid back kind of guy so I’m just going to enjoy it and take everything in and take in the moment.”

(The following interviews are archived from “Scott Stanchak Exclusives” on ScottStanchak.com)

Leave a comment