"The Cheap Seats: Notebook"

The hit professional sports talk radio show — in print

Exclusive Interview: Actor Jon Gries

Posted by Scott Stanchak on April 10, 2008

Before you question why today’s article is not sports related, let me explain.

Over the years, “The Cheap Seats” has featured celebrities, as well as athletes on the show.  It mixes up the guests and allows for us to reach others who might not be only sports fans.  While most of the content you see will be professional-sports related, you can expect occasional interviews with actors, musicians and politicians.

Here’s my interview with actor Jon Gries, who has starred in such films as “Napoleon Dynamite” and “The Astronaut Farmer.”  He’s also appeared in the television shows “Lost,” “The Pretender,” “Seinfeld,” and more.

Scott: Over the years you’ve appeared in close to 100 movies and television shows. When you first started getting roles on a consistent basis, what kind of thoughts were you having that you could actually make a living doing this?

Jon: That’s a really great question. It was more of a thought in retrospect, like, ‘I’m making money’ instead of ‘Wow, I can make money doing this.’ Looking back I realized I hadn’t worked any other jobs over the past few years and that was around the time I was filming “Real Genious.”

Scott: Most people work very hard to get where they are today. What was your path to stardom?

Jon: It’s been a long one with respect to the roles I’ve played. I mean, there’s been good opportunities that one way or another didn’t work out, but I ended up doing something else. Then “The Pretender” came around and I was hired for one show and ended up never leaving.

Scott: What were some of the opportunities that didn’t work out?

Jon: I read for Robert Redford when he was making “Ordinary People.” I read for the role Timothy Hutton ended up getting. (Redford) told me that I was his guy, but as a matter of diligence, he said he was going to keep looking and leave no stone unturned. Agents kept calling me, casting directors, everyone, calling to say how amazing this was. Then I heard nothing for about a week and a half. I was on the Warner Brothers lot for another reason one day and I stopped into the office for “Ordinary People,” At first the lady at the desk smiled and then covered her mouth and gasped because she remembered she didn’t tell me I didn’t get the part.

Scott: “The Pretender” was a big show for you. After all, you appeared in 85 episodes. What was that experience like to know your full-time job was as a character on a successful TV show?

Jon: It was intense, but fun. At first I was hired by the day and after about 10 episodes I went in and was like ‘If I’m going to keep reappearing, you’re gonna have to pay me more.’ They said they had a different idea for the network to sign me to the show with different options, but the deal had to be negotiated if I was going to be a regular. Before I signed, one of the stipulations was that I get the opportunity to direct an episode. I was told the network wouldn’t have it, but was given a promise I could – and that promise came true.

Scott: Let’s talk about your role as Uncle Rico in “Napoleon Dynamite.” You had some funky outfits and a weak throwing arm in the movie – I’ve heard from other actors in the movie it was a great time filming the movie – was it a great experience for you?

Jon: I think you hit the nail on the head. Truly, doing that film, it was the closest experience to going back to summer camp from when I was a little kid. It honestly didn’t even feel like work. I like that Jared (Hess, Director) let me be inventive with the character. It was a great script and he’s a young guy with a strong vision and was never questionable. Some directors you question their judgment, but not Jared. His eye is amazing – very good.

Scott: Let’s be honest: Is your throwing arm as bad as it is in the movie?

Jon: (Laughs) I’d say it’s a little better. If you remember the scene where Napoleon is hit in the face with the steak, well, I threw that steak. And it really hurt when it hit him. Not to mention, I was off-camera a good distance away so it was a pretty good throw. My most admiral moment of the film was to hit him exactly where I was supposed to – square in the face.

Scott: Uncle Rico was a self-proclaimed football great. Are you a big sports fan?

Jon: I’m not a huge, rabid fan. I played baseball and still do love the game. I’m not an avid fan though. I think too much emphasis is put on the money players are making instead of having hometown players. Players are now going to the highest bidder instead of staying with one team throughout their career. So in that regard I’m not a huge fan, but I still love the competition in sports.

Scott: One of my favorite shows on television is “Lost.” Last season you appeared on an episode, playing Ben Linus’ father. Were you a fan of the show before going on it?

Jon: When the show was first offered to me I had to have my girlfriend read the script to let me know what was going on. I’d never seen the show before and she knew the show and was a big fan. When she finished it she was like ‘Oh my god, I can’t believe it’ and because she had a preview of what was going to happen.

Scott: Since the show is one that you really need to start watching from the beginning because you’ll get – no pun intended — lost in the storyline, was that hard to play the role or because it was a flashback you were appearing in it didn’t really matter?

Jon: The most important thing was to emphasize the relationship between Ben and myself. It really didn’t matter how the development of his story fit in. We just had to have a great connection and did.

Scott: What was your on-set experience like?

Jon: It was serious, but interesting and really great. I would say, with the exception of Luke Perry, I did “90210” a few years ago and it was the biggest show on TV at the time. “Lost” and “90210” are very similar – popular culture, always in the tabloids, biggest show running. “90210” was very aware of itself though. Not on “Lost.” The show is so popular, but the cast and crew were so laid back. Perhaps because it was filmed in Hawaii, but lots of the crew surfed and enjoying being there. It was a very good experience.

Scott: How secretive is everything kept on the “Lost” set?

Jon: Very.  I had my script and we were filming in the jungle, but on this day it was pouring rain and mud all over the place. My script fell in the mud and was goopy and looking horrible. I told the crew what happened and asked for a new script and they all just laughed at me – they didn’t want extra scripts floating around. I had to squeeze all the mud out of it and keep using the same script. Plus, my name was in huge, block print so they’d know it was mine. The same thing at the hotel. When there were re-writes, they’d instruct my driver to bring it to me. I ask for him to just leave it with the front desk, but he said no, you have to take it yourself. I also had to sign a confidentiality contract.

Scott: Let’s talk about some of the shows you appeared on and tell me what your on-set experience was like:

“Seinfeld” as a bum who refuses to give Kramer his Tupperware back: Jon: I did two episodes of “Seinfeld,” one in 1995 and the other at its end some years later – both as the same character. It was a show I hadn’t seen before my first time appearing because I really don’t watch too much TV. I just got prepared to shoot and things went fine. Everyone was so nice, including Jerry (Seinfeld). I will say though that Kramer (Michael Richards) wasn’t too nice though. Most of my scenes were with him on the set and he didn’t even speak to me much. I gave him the benefit of the doubt though because I’m sure he had a host of other issues or something may have been going on in his personal life. I just assumed that.

“24” as a terrorist: Jon: Truly a great experience. The director was the son (James Whitmore Jr.) of James Whitmore, who directed many “Pretender” episodes, and offered me the role. It was a pleasure to be on set, and to tell the truth, about seventy percent of the crew was the same as “The Pretender.” Everyone on that show were so very close – attending birthday parties, weddings and other events. It was nice to see them all again.

“E.R.” as a defense attorney: Jon: This was another show I really hadn’t seen before. I did the movie “Jackpot” in 2001 with Anthony Edwards and he was directing an episode and needed someone to play Sally Fields’ lawyer. So that’s how that happened and of course, how great was it to act with Sally Fields.

Scott: You’ve been on so many TV shows, do you have a favorite to sit down and watch?

Jon: Nowaday there’s lots of good shows. I’ll tell you one that I always thought was very good and that’s “Frasier.” I hear “Heroes” is very good. I watched a bunch of “Soprano” episodes early on. My girlfriend got me into one reality show and that’s “Project Runway.” I mean, they are making clothes out of nothing – it’s fascinating.

Scott: You’ve acted alongside so many great actors and actresses, who is it you’d love to film a scene with?

Jon: Jack Nicholson. I’d be doing backflips if I could film with him. Also, the Cohen brothers. And Jared Hess again. He’s so gifted and lovely.

Leave a comment