"The Cheap Seats: Notebook"

The hit professional sports talk radio show — in print

Phillies Trying To Right The Past With World Series Title

Posted by Scott Stanchak on October 24, 2008

I’ve watched many World Series games over the years, but no one moment stands out in my mind more than Mitch Williams serving up the game-winning home run to Joe Carter in 1993.

I was 11 years old, watching from a recliner in my living room.  My dad and brother were on the couch sleeping, but I was glued to the television.  As soon as Carter’s bat touched the ball I knew it was gone.  I screamed, waking the two of them, and we all watched as Carter jumped and pumped his fist around the bases.

The Blue Jays had taken the World Series from the Phillies with one swing.  Fifteen years later, Philadelphia is back, trying to erase the memories of Williams’ 2-2 mistake.

“Starting day one, in Spring Training, this is what we’ve worked for,” Chase Utley told me in 2005, referring to the postseason.

The reason I’m revisiting that quote — and several others from Phillies players that year — is because it fits perfectly.  It’s a responce I’m sure Utley would give to me if I asked him about making the playoffs today.

“I’ve worked hard for 15 years to get to this position,” Utley said of getting to the big leagues. “I wouldn’t trade it for the world.”

Fifteen years is what the Phillies fans have had to wait for their team to make it back to The Grand Stage.  That’s a long time for some groupies that expect their team to win, ike they expect Cheese Whiz on their cheesesteaks.

On Thursday, the Phillies picked up their first World Series loss since that unfortunate day back on October 23, 2003.  In a series against a Rays team that has never even been to the playoffs, let alone the World Series, the Phillies are hoping all their hard work pays off.

When Jimmy Rollins and I were walking from the dugout to the clubhouse in May 2005, I asked him what the best moment of his career had been so far.

“I haven’t gotten there yet.  So there’s nothing I would want to relive, unless we win the World Series.  I’d want to relive that as many times as possible.”

This year’s Phillies team is special.  Their infield is made up of two former MVPs (Ryan Howard and Rollins) and one who could very well win one in the near future (Utley).

NL Championship Series MVP Cole Hamels, Brett Myers, Jamie Moyer and closer Brad Lidge comprise a pitching staff that has the playoff’s top ERA (3.09), average against (.230), wins (8) and saves (6).

“We’re going to try and win every game we can,” Myers said that same day. “None of us have any quit in us; that’s the mentality that you have to have as a ballplayer.”

The Rays aren’t going to be an easy opponent for the Phillies.  Their young lineup knocked the Yankees out of the postseason for the first time since the early nineties.  That’s an accomplishment in itself.

“You end up with great stories when you end up in the major leagues,” Rollins said, placing his bat against the wall. “This is the place to be, no doubt about that.”

There’s a whole group of guys hoping this year’s story ends with a World Series title.  Three wins to go.

One Response to “Phillies Trying To Right The Past With World Series Title”

  1. Rick said

    Great story, Scott. I’m rooting for the Phils to take the Series and hope they do!

Leave a comment